Subliminal Talk
Bluetooth Speakers and Headphones - Printable Version

+- Subliminal Talk (https://subliminal-talk.com)
+-- Forum: Other Topics (https://subliminal-talk.com/Forum-Other-Topics)
+--- Forum: The Chatter Box (https://subliminal-talk.com/Forum-The-Chatter-Box)
+--- Thread: Bluetooth Speakers and Headphones (/Thread-Bluetooth-Speakers-and-Headphones)

Bluetooth Speakers and Headphones - Javier Gerardo - 01-08-2020

Does using a Bluetooth speaker with Ultrasonic sub reduced its effectiveness as compared to wired speakers?
I plan to buy a stereo (with left and right speaker channels) Bluetooth speaker for use with ultrasonic subs since my two wired speakers I have been using for around 7 years or so have died on me.

Also what about using Bluetooth wireless earphones. Those cheap below $100 models. Airpods seems to cost so much.

RE: Bluetooth Speakers and Headphones - LionKing - 01-08-2020

Reduces quality, depending on what codec is used. Wifi has more bandwidth - haven't read but I'm assuming DLNA and similar have (little to) no added compression. 

For bluetooth, there is a baseline mandatory codec which is something like... googling...192-320kbps. Then, if your source and headphones support it, you can have better codecs e.g. AptX or AptX HD. The former of those is "CD quality". So you see that there is compression involved, more or less, so something from the audio file is left out. With wires, there is no compression. I suppose you could even get multiple compressions if some internal system would have to change from a format to another.

You asked about sub effectiveness, but that's hard to measure. You'll be relying on forum member reports, or just uttry it out for a while with BT headphones and try to get a sense of whether it's working better or worse.

RE: Bluetooth Speakers and Headphones - Javier Gerardo - 01-08-2020