Subliminal Talk

Full Version: Regarding first 3 stages of BASE
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi Shannon,

I have a quite complex issue regarding BASE. I think I know the answer, but I need more suggestions, or one definitive answer in a way.

Basically, I am a student majoring in design, but I also have a side business which is what I am working on right now. The first stage I went from working 18 hours a day on my business aside from school work, to stopping the business and changing direction on learning about the subject. The reason for doing that is the side business MAY not be as profitable once I can use my expertise to make money, but that needs to take a quite lengthy amount of time without making any money. It's the period of laying out the foundations, so to speak.

Now I am almost onto the 2/3 of stage 2. Yes, I agree that I enjoy the motivation the sub brings me. But a significant difference I find is that, whenever I am working on my business, I have SUPER strong motivation, like 12/10, whreas when I am trying to learn new things for design and practicing, or something that doesn't seem to produce direct results atm, I have less motivation, say, 6/10. But I clearly know that I should have spent more effort on practicing design, KAIZENing my way up my career. The end result, viewing in the long term approach, will be more rewarding than the current side business I have.

In stage 1 when I am solely working on my business, my business improves quickly. My focus seems to stick only on business and I just *know* what I need to do everyday. But right now on stage 2 where I am at a situation thinking I should probably work on design, read more stuff, and do business at the same time, my mind seems to have diluted its focus, like it's still constantly searching for an answer. In the breaks of day I actually don't have a sense of what to do, like I am puzzled.